top of page

Beauty in the Body of Christ

When your heart experiences something so beautiful and profound, it’s difficult to put into words the impact it made in your life; but it’s also a blessing, and blessings aren’t just meant for ourselves. Block 3 was an absolute blessing, so I’ll do my best to share with all of you just how much God used it to impact my life. Just minutes before the bus stopped at the airport where we would meet our team, my pareja turned to me and said, “I don’t want to have high expectations, but I have a feeling that this team is going to be special.” Not knowing how right he would be, we stepped through the airport doors and eagerly awaited them. I didn’t expect it, but for the past few weeks, I had been feeling the weight of homesickness and loneliness. My heart has been aching for home– to give my family a hug, to take beach trips with my best friends, to share stories of what I’ve been learning, to drive my car and blast Justin Bieber ( I know, I know), to buy Starbucks and browse Target’s $1 section, and to fellowship with my church at home. Little did I know, long before Ecuador became a desire, before I knew it could be a reality, God prepared for me and this sweet team from California to meet (this team only lives 5 hours away from me at home, btw, but we met IN Ecuador. WHAT?) And what a sweet meeting it was! From the first night, when I learned they loved Nertz (a card game my friends and I love to play), I knew they were something special. ;)  Their familiarity of my home brought a rest to my heart and a familiarity I had so desperately been desiring. And thus began the unveiling of how sweet this team really was. In the past 10 days, I have come to know better the beauty found in the body of Christ– where there was faithfulness and support instead of complaining, where people didn’t fight for the spotlight, but instead let others use their gifts to let Christ’s love and glory shine, where there wasn’t gossip, but accountability, honesty, and an understanding that our hearts are in need of the very Savior we know others need in their sin. I witnessed the pastor and his people share the gospel with those they met, as if it was the most important news in the world (because it is) and treat those people as if they were dearly loved (because they are). I saw the result of empowering others, when leaders would say. “I believe in you,” with the responsibilities they entrusted to their students. The leaders had spent years learning the lives of their students and discipling them, and during our time together in Ecuador, gave them the opportunity to take their knowledge and love for God, and disciple others. 

I saw the fruit of the gospel being shared, and WOW, was it incredible! I saw one of the women on our team build a relationship with our bus driver, Robelio, talk to him about life, and share the gospel with him. I saw her son love on the bus driver’s son, Anthony, give him countless piggy-back rides and share the gospel with him. Both Robelio and Anthony surrendered their lives to the Lord. That Sunday, Anthony and Robelio, along with Robelio’s other son and wife, were at church with us worshiping the Lord.

On our last day together, the team wanted a group photo, so I offered to take it. As the group was gathering, the pastor found a passerby, asked them to take it instead, and told me, “You have to be in it too. You’re a part of us.” *Cue tears* I have so many sweet memories with this team and feel so humbled that their love for me and my pareja felt reciprocated and genuine. This group impacted my heart and awe of the Lord immensely. Because of them, I feel that I better understand how the body works in unity, I desire fellowship with my brothers and sisters in Christ, and yearn to have a deeper relationship with my Savior. When we live out Christ’s calling in our lives and earnestly seek a relationship with Him, our lives are significantly changed, and as a result, so are the lives around us. God used this team to change my heart and reignite a passion to live fully for Him. My job is to lead others and remind them of who God is, and there is something so humbling about hearing the way God has used me (a flawed human) to bring His truth to this world. Thank you Faith Community, for living out your purpose, and through your actions, reminding me to do the same. I love you all and I’m looking forward to the day we meet again, whether here on earth, or one day in Heaven.

Our team moved 40-90 pound bags of cement to help build and extend a church in the community of Valle Hermoso (Beauitful Valley).

We not only got the opportunity to serve alongside the community members, but had the chance to learn from them.


We also had the privilege of playing with the sweet kids in the community, and they had patience as we practiced our Spanish with them.

One of the many games we played with the kids: "Pato, pato, ganzo" Aka "Duck, duck, goose."

The women brought out berries used for lipstick, so we decided to take a quick break to give each other makeovers! ;)

This beautiful waterfall distracts from the dozens of bug bites all over my legs.

Faith Community: My team, my friends, and my brothers and sisters in Christ. Les amo!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Christina
Garibay
bottom of page